Wednesday, June 14, 2006

Swamibapa 45-Over Champs

Steve Tikolo and Maurice Ouma led the way for Swamibapa, who opted to bat first in the NPCA 45-Over final at Aga Khan Sports Centre last weekend. Tikolo made 28 of Swami's 191 all out, but it was Ouma who top scored with 32. Joseph Angara added 23. Kanbis bowling honours were shared by Harish Varshani (3/27), Vijay Kalyan (2/42), Vipul Khetani (2/38).
In reply, Kanbis were kept pinned down thanks to tight bowling from Angara (3/33), Peter Ongondo (2/23) and Tony Suji (2/19). Both Pritesh Rabadia and Ramesh Mepani batted well to make 34 each, but the rest of the side were not able to back them up, and Kanbis ended up falling 32 runs short on 9/159. Officials for the match were Subhash Modi and Mohammed Khan.
Once again, Swamibapa prove they are the Kings of the domestic game. The new season is set to be underway any time now, so it will be interesting to see who their rivals will be this year. Kanbis will no doubt be in the running again, and Thomas Odoyo's Jafferys will also have their eyes set on the title. With the rather lacklustre performance of the A team in the Atul Shah tournament in Mombasa, there is plenty of space at the top for new players to come through. Hopefully we will see a couple of fresh faces making a name for themselves this season.

No comments: