Monday, November 09, 2009

Swamibapa A are new Super League champions

Swamibapa A went into their final game against Stray Lions A at a well prepared Permier Club ground knowing that a win would finally break the Kanbis strangle hold on the trophy. Acting Swamibapa captain, Peter Ongondo, won the toss and opted to bat with most of the team chipping in with knocks to take the side to a total of 215 all out.

Tony Suji (39), Maurice Ouma (33), Francis Otieno (34), Lameck Onyango (29) and Peter Ongondo (24) all batted well for thir runs against the tight bowling of the Lions lead by Jimmy Kamande (3/49) and Hiren Variya (2/25).

In reply Stray Lions, had little answer to the Swamibapa bowlers with only Collins Obuya (21), Hiren Variya (22) and David Obuya (20) getting going. Pick of the bowlers for Swamibapa were Peter Ongondo (1/17), Nehemia Odhiambo (3/30) and an outstanding James Otieno (4/9). In the end, Stray Lions only managed to score 108 all out in 26.4 overs and Swamibapa clinched a well-deserved title after a long wait.

Swamibapa acting Captain, Peter Ongondo(in place of the injured captain Joseph Angara) praised his team for good show and excellent team work for the success of winning the championship after a lapse of five years and he dedicated this championship victory to Premjibhai Khoda, Swamibapa's long time serving Team manager who was recently hospitalised and wished him a quick recovery.

The match was played in excellent sportsmanship and was umpired by Subhash Modi and Rockie D'Mello

No comments: