Monday, December 07, 2009

U17 Leagues another step in the right direction

Cricket Kenya have come under criticism in the last couple of years for focussing exclusively on the national team at the expense of cricket development in the country. 2009 has seen a dramatic shift in that policy with development competitions being orgaqnised at all levels. The latest of these is the Cricket Kenya U17 leagues which will be held on a regional basis. Nairobi, not surprisingly has the greatest number of teams in their league with 12, but both Rift Valley (3 teams) and Coast (4 teams) will also be in action.

Below is the Cricket Kenya Press release including tournament rules. We will endeavour to bring you what results we can.

Starting this Saturday 5th December 2009 Cricket Kenya have organized cricket leagues in three provinces namely; Nairobi, Rift Valley and Coast Provinces.
Nairobi has twelve teams as listed below:
• Kanbis A
• Nairobi Jafferys
• Aga Khan
• Hillcrest
• Gymkhana
• Goan Institute
• Swamibapa
• Sir Ali
• Kongonis
• Kanbis B
• Sree Cutchi Leva Youth League
• Simba Union
Rift Valley has been split into three teams:
• Stars
• Flamingoes
• Craters
While Coast Province will feature four sides made up of the boys from schools and clubs:-
• Coast Tusks
• Kilindini
• Oceanic
• Nyali Stars
Rules for Nairobi and Coast Competitions:
1. The matches are of 30 overs duration.
2. Any one bowler is limited to 6 overs
3. Powerplay are 6 : 3 : 3: 12 overs in total
4. Other ICC One Day rules apply

Rules For Rift Valley Competition:
1. All the matches will be of 25 overs duration
2. Any one bowler can bowl a maximum of 5 overs
3. Power play overs 10 overs taken in bits of 5:3:2
4. Other ICC rules apply

No comments: